Heidelberg

Mysterious castle ruins, picturesque old town, lovely Neckar valley – this fascinating triad stands for Heidelberg, the romantic city on the edge of the Odenwald.

Back in the 19th century, the beauty of this region attracted the great German romantics, who immortalized Heidelberg in poetry, music and painting. With their famous works, they contributed to the myth that surrounds Heidelberg to the present day.

The castle ruin with its huge walls towers majestically over the city and is an imposing relic of a great electoral past. The magnificent Gothic and Renaissance facades reveal Heidelberg's eventful history.

The city of 'poets and thinkers' and 'teaching and research' is proud of its 'Ruperto Carola', the oldest university in Germany. It was founded as early as 1386 and still impacts inner-city life today. Today, 30,000 students from many nations are enrolled in studies here. As such, Heidelberg is an international town, romantic and idyllic, cosmopolitan and dynamic. Behind the historic city walls, a lively student scene defines the town.

From the famous, higher-level Philosoher's Way (Philosophenweg) there are magnificent views of the old town, castle and Neckar Valley. Due to the mild, partly Mediterranean climate, exotic plants such as cypresses, pomegranate trees, palms and pines thrive here.
On the opposite side, a historic cable car goes up to the castle and beyond to the King's Seat (Königstuhl), Heidelberg's local hill. Up there, visitors are rewarded with a fantastic view of the nearby Rhine Valley.

The green slopes of the Odenwald forest shape the surroundings of Heidelberg. About forty percent of the district of Heidelberg is wooded. As such, besides cultural attractions, the city has much to offer nature lovers, such as the 'Path of the Celts' (Keltenweg) on the 'Holy Hill' (Heiligenberg), the Via Naturae or the forest adventure trail on the 'King's Seat' (Königstuhl).

Tourist Information at the main train station (Hauptbahnhof)
Willy-Brandt-Platz 1
69115 Heidelberg
Tel: +49(0) 6221-58-44444
Fax: +49(0) 6221-58402-54
E-mail: touristinfo@heidelberg.de
Internet: www.heidelberg-marketing.de

 

In cooperation with

Certificate    

X

Liebe Wanderpass-Nutzer,

nutzen Sie doch unser Angebot für den digitalen Wanderpass

Sollten die Stempelstellen geschlossen haben, 

freuen wir uns auch über einen Bildnachweis.

Heidelberg

Geheimnisvolle Schlossruine, malerische Altstadt, liebliches Neckartal – dieser faszinierende Dreiklang steht für Heidelberg, die romantische Stadt am Rande des Odenwalds.


Bereits im 19. Jahrhundert lockte die Schönheit dieser Region die großen deutschen Romantiker an, die Heidelberg in Dichtung, Musik und Malerei verewigten. Mit ihren berühmt gewordenen Werken trugen sie zum Mythos bei, der Heidelberg bis in die Gegenwart umgibt.


Majestätisch thront die Schlossruine mit ihren gewaltigen Mauern über der Stadt und ist imposantes Relikt großer kurfürstlicher Vergangenheit. Die prachtvollen Fassaden aus Gotik und Renaissance lassen Heidelbergs wechselvolle Geschichte erkennen.
Die Stadt der „Dichter und Denker“ und der „Lehre und Forschung“ ist stolz auf ihre Ruperto Carola, die älteste Universität in Deutschland.  Sie wurde bereits 1386 gegründet und prägt auch heute noch das innerstädtische Leben. Mittlerweile sind hier 30.000 Studenten aus zahlreichen Nationen immatrikuliert. So ist Heidelberg eine gleichermaßen weltoffene wie internationale Stadt, romantisch und idyllisch, kosmopolitisch und dynamisch: hinter den historischen Stadtmauern bestimmt eine quirlige Studentenszene das Stadtbild.

 

Vom viel gerühmten, hochgelegenen Philosophenweg hat man einen herrlichen Blick auf  Altstadt, Schloss und Neckartal. Aufgrund des milden, teilweise mediterranen Klimas gedeihen hier exotische Pflanzen wie Zypressen, Granatapfelbäume, Palmen und Pinien.
Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite fährt die historische Bergbahn bis zum Schloss und weiter hinauf zum Königstuhl, dem Hausberg Heidelbergs. Dort oben wird jeder Besucher mit einem fantastischen Ausblick auf das nahegelegene Rheintal belohnt.

 

Die grünen Hänge des Odenwalds prägen die Umgebung Heidelbergs. Etwa vierzig Prozent der Gemarkungsfläche Heidelbergs sind bewaldet. Somit bietet die Stadt neben kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten auch allen Naturinteressierten ein breites Angebot, wie bspw. den Keltenweg auf dem Heiligenberg, die Via Naturae oder den Walderlebnispfad auf dem Königstuhl.
 

Tourist Information am Hauptbahnhof
Willy-Brandt-Platz 1
69115 Heidelberg
 
Tel. +49(0) 6221-58-44444
Fax: +49(0) 6221-58402-54
 

In Zusammenarbeit mit

Zertifikat